skip to Main Content

2021 Minimum Wage Updates

Knowledge Center / Blog

2021 Minimum Wage Updates

By The Employer Group - Jan 15, 2021

It is that time of year again! Many states implemented changes to their minimum wage laws effective January 1, 2021. Below are the states that will be affected. The Federal minimum wage is still set at $7.25 per hour.

Minimum Wage Changes for 2021:

Alaska: $10.34 per hour

Arizona: Increasing to $12.15 per hour

Arkansas: Increasing to $11.00 per hour

California: Increasing to $14.00 per hour (for employers with 26 or more employees), $13.00 per hour for smaller businesses (25 or less employees).

Colorado: Increasing to $12.32 per hour

Connecticut: $13.00 per hour

District of Columbia: $15.00 per hour

Florida: $8.65 per hour

Illinois: Increasing to $11.00 per hour

Maine: $12.15 per hour

Massachusetts: $13.50 per hour

Michigan: Remaining at $9.65 per hour—IF the unemployment number holds, as expected.

Minnesota: Increasing to $10.08 per hour for large employers with annual gross volume not less than $500,000. Small employers will be required to pay employees $8.21 per hour.

Missouri: Increasing to $10.30 per hour

Montana: $8.75 per hour

Nevada: Increasing to $9.75 per hour for employers who do not provide health benefits, effective July 1, 2021.

New Jersey: $12.00 per hour

New Mexico: $10.50 per hour

New York: $11.00 per hour (11 or more employees), $10.50 per hour (10 or less employees), $15.00 per hour (Long Island & Westchester), and $9.70 per hour for the remainder of New York state workers.

Ohio: Increasing to $8.80 per hour

Oregon: The standard minimum wage will increase to $12.75 per hour. Portland Metro will be increasing to $13.25 per hour and non-urban counties will be increasing to $11.50 per hour effective July 1, 2021.

Rhode Island: $12.00 per hour

South Dakota: Increasing to $9.45 per hour

Vermont: $11.75 per hour

Washington: Increasing to $13.69 per hour (18 and older), $11.64 per hour (16 and under). Also guarantees paid sick time to workers, allowing them to accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked.

The Employer Group’s professional payroll services track and implement all payroll laws – let us do the compliance work for you! Contact us at info@theemployergroup.com for more information.

Back To Top